Skore

            Process versions history

             What is it?

            When working on a process, new revisions are created so that it is easier to see the history of changes, approve the right revision, or restore a previous revision to cancel some changes



            Revisions are automatic

            • A new revision is automatically created when startingi to edit a process (i.e. entering the edit mode)
            • During the editing session, automatic saves are written on this revision
            • Once the editing session is finished, the revision is "frozen" and can not be changed.

            A revision can be approved for publication


            Accessing a process

            • By default, the published version of a process is shown to user when opening a process
            • If no published version exists, the user will see the latest version (i.e. most recent)

            How to...

            How to access different revisions of a process

            Open the history modal window from the "History" menu.



            Then, you can see all the revisions of the process



            At this stage, you can open previous revisions of a process.

            URLs of a process

            • /latest goes to the latest (most recent) revision of a process
            • /published goes to the currently published version
            • /rX goes to revision X (X will be a number)

            How to restore a previous revision of a process

            To start again from a given revision, you can restore a revision to make it the latest version.

            • Identify the revision to restore
            • Click the restore button
            • This revision will be added at the top of list, making it the new starting point when editing the process
            • The revisions between the original revision to be restored, and the newly restored revision (which are now identical) will be kept. In other words, no work is ever erased.
            Note that everyone with "can see" access right on a process can access all revisions

            What if I want to make changes to a process in secret before making it available

            Let's say you have a published process --- the version everyone sees by default, and you have kept working on improvement of the process but you do not want to disclose them. As explained above, anyone with "can view" access right on the process is able to see all revisions of a process, even those that are not published yet.

            Here is the simple way to create an alternative process to be released later
            • Identify which revision is the starting point of the future scenario
            Case 1: copy the current published version (or latest version if nothing is published)
            In this case, you can use the duplicate button from the process menu

            Case 2: all other cases / I want to start from a specific revision
            In this case:
            - open the process
            - open the XML of the process (from the export menu)
            - copy the XML (select all and copy to clipboard)
            - create a new process
            - enter edit mode, open the XML editor
            - paste the XML and click apply

            • Manage access right
            You may want to change the access right to a restricted audience.


            • Work on your new confidencial to-be process
            • When ready, you can export the XML and re-import in your original process as described above




            Updated: 07 Jun 2018 06:17 PM
            Helpful?  
            Help us to make this article better
            0 0