To start again from a given revision, you can restore a revision to make it the latest version.
Note that everyone with "can see" access right on a process can access all revisions
What if I want to make changes to a process in secret before making it available
Let's say you have a published process --- the version everyone sees by default, and you have kept working on improvement of the process but you do not want to disclose them. As explained above, anyone with "can view" access right on the process is able to see all revisions of a process, even those that are not published yet.
Here is the simple way to create an alternative process to be released later
- Identify which revision is the starting point of the future scenario
Case 1: copy the current published version (or latest version if nothing is published)
In this case, you can use the duplicate button from the process menu
Case 2: all other cases / I want to start from a specific revision
In this case:
- open the process
- open the XML of the process (from the export menu)
- copy the XML (select all and copy to clipboard)
- create a new process
- enter edit mode, open the XML editor
- paste the XML and click apply
You may want to change the access right to a restricted audience.
- Work on your new confidencial to-be process
- When ready, you can export the XML and re-import in your original process as described above